PDA

View Full Version : Anyone with race experience ?

Slave-One
02-25-2009, 03:33 AM
I may race with my Savage Flux during April. I will have to run in a MT class with nitro MT, so running time must be between 10 and 20 minutes.
Is this possible ? I know I have 20 to 30 minutes runtime during bash sessions with 2x5000mAh but this is no race. I can't currently test that myself at the track (because 2 feet of snow), so any input will be appreciated.

banx
02-25-2009, 04:34 PM
if the mains are long like they are here (25 minutes) you will have to pit, and even change batteries if necessary.

its only fair that you have to stop every 7 minutes for 8 seconds just like a nitro would to fill its tank.

i have no experience with a flux, but all i can say is get it as low and light as possible, and gear it so you hit top speed at the end of the straight.

having a high top speed is unnecessary, having good punch and turn in is what you want.

and when you get to the track spend a few minutes watching the fast guys to see what jumps they double or triple........

as for setups, regarding toe in/camber etc. i cant offer any suggestions because i have never driven a flux. but good luck, the racing bug bit me hard last summer

aypo
02-25-2009, 11:36 PM
Hi there slave-one, i dont see any problem with the setup you have in sign (ammo and mamba) to reach 20 minutes easily. and as banx said, all you need is to gear it for acceleration what means lower currents during the acceleration because of better gearing ratio.
anyway good luck against the nitros.

Slave-One
02-26-2009, 02:23 AM
Thanks aypo, I will not run my E-Savy but my Savage Flux so that's why I have no clue about race runtime.